In 2006, the European Council and European Parliament adopted a European Framework for Key Competences for Lifelong Learning. It identifies eight key competences which all individuals need for personal fulfilment and development, for active citizenship, for social inclusion and for employment. The European Schools’ curriculum seeks to develop all of these key competences in the students:

  1. communication in the mother tongue
  2. communication in foreign languages
  3. mathematical competence and basic competences in science and technology
  4. digital competence
  5. learning to learn
  6. social and civic competences
  7. sense of initiative and entrepreneurship
  8. cultural awareness and expression

To read more go to :